I have had some photo’s sent via email and to enable me to see them I have to install Microsft Silverlight.which I’ve never heard of. Does anyone know if this is safe or is it a danger to my computer
Yes it is safe. Here is a link to download it from.
http://www.microsoft.com/getsilverlight/Get-Started/Install/Default.aspx
No TweetBacks yet. (Be the first to Tweet this post)
August 13th, 2010 at 7:25 am
I’ve had silverlight in my computer for several years. No problems with it at all. It’s really just a plug-in, to assist with looking at photo’s etc. Should be fine, don’t worry!
References :
August 13th, 2010 at 8:07 am
Yes it is safe. Here is a link to download it from.
http://www.microsoft.com/getsilverlight/Get-Started/Install/Default.aspx
References :
August 13th, 2010 at 8:29 am
microsoft silverlight itself is safe
but make sure you download it from microsoft.com to ensure the installer is genuine
because scammers, hackers and that kind of scum might have a convenient download link that is really loaded with cybernasties when you install a pretend version of silverlight
it might even contain the real silverlight just to make it look real
References :
August 13th, 2010 at 8:48 am
From Microsoft it’s OK, but be aware: it also installs to Firefox, and if you use FF for it’s security, then it must be disabled.
Check your FF ‘Add-on’s’> "Extensions" & "Plug-in’s" box and uninstall/disable NET framework, Windows Presentation Foundation, Silverlight.
References :